Well, finished my first week of work.  I think I like it well enough..  I’m the Lunchroom Attendant at a local Senor Center.  I work from 8 in the morning to 1 in the afternoon, which I may have stated before.  It’s not hard work, but some times it feels menial.  I know that’s not right – exactly.  There are just moments that I feel like I’m working at something that’s beneath me.  THAT is wrong.  I’ve been unemployed for 16 months, nothing is below me.  So why do I have these flashes that says I should be doing better bigger things?  What’s better, or bigger, than helping out our senior citizens.  And it’s not like I’m heading that way myself, sooner rather than later, it’s just a stupid thing that flits through my mind from time to time but it makes me feel guilty because I shouldn’t even have a thought flit through my mind like that.  Some times I don’t understand myself.

This is the big sci-fi/fantasy/horror/robotics/gamers weekend in Denver.  I have worked that convention, or “con” as we insiders call it, for over 20 years.  Except the last 2 years.  Last year wasn’t too bad, I lived in Denver.  This year it is harder cause I’m stuck 3 hours away from Denver.  My friends send me pictures and let me know what I’m missing, but it’s just not the same.  And I miss my friends.  Most of them are at the con.  That’s where we all met so very many years ago.  It was the one time I KNEW I’d be able to see everybody and catch up with their families and all that stuff.  And I just love the atmosphere at the con.  Everybody lets you be yourself completely.  If you want to come in costume, feel free, if you want to spend all weekend sitting in autograph lines, feel free, if you want to show off a TV or movie model you created, go right ahead, if you’re into horror, go watch as many horror movies as you can stand.  If you want to go shopping for the strange and unusual, or play video games all weekend,  It is all there for the viewing, playing, buying, and enjoying.

Ah well, it’s time for Doctor Who, and I so like Doctor Who, always have, since the early 70s.  Have a good evening all.

Leave a Reply

