Watching the Kites fly

Swallow Tail Kite

A few days ago we had some really terrible winds. Up to 60 miles an hour. There was nothing in the air except debris and sand. Yesterday we had high winds, nowhere near 60 mph though. I was laying down, my legs were killing me from work, and I glanced out the window and saw a flock of Swallow Tail Kites gliding on the wind. Kites, the birds, not the kites kids fly. There are signs all over the parks around here about not disturbing the Kites or their nests, but I had never seen any in flight. Till yesterday. There had to be 10 or 12 birds just floating in the wind. After half an hour, or maybe less, the last of the Kites disappeared behind the trees. It was the coolest thing I have seen in a long time. It was the best thing I had seen all day long and made the wind not so bad. Just for a short while, anyway.

Leave a Reply

