Hi ho Silver… Oh, you know the rest…

Lone Ranger 2

This is a definite Rave tonight. Just got home from watching, finally, The Lone Ranger. I know I don’t have very many who follow my blog, but if you are still wondering – go see the movie. I loved it. Ignore the critics, they’re sticks in the mud. Yes, they are right, it’s not The Lone Ranger that some of us grew up with. And it is a pretty predictable plot, too. But Armie Hammer and Johnny Depp make a good team. Armie is a perfect straight man for Johnny’s somewhat deranged (it gets explained in the movie) Tonto. And I loved Silver (all 6 of him). And yes, they even have The William Tell Overture in the movie several times. They even have the Hi-ho Silver bit, you just have to wait for it.

As for having a favorite part, I’ll have to get back with you on that, there are so many. I do like the conversation between Tonto and Spirit Horse (Silver). Tonto hanging on under a train is a lot of fun, as is Tonto as a Chinaman… And hearing an old Comanche Chief say “Not so much.” was so funny. And some of the stunts are amazing.

If there is one flaw, some of the CGI is a bit obvious, but I could deal with that. I was having such a good time.

I hope more people in Europe ignore the critics and go see the movie. Its too bad so many people here have stayed away from a really fun movie. I had a great time and will try to go see it one more time.

Leave a Reply

