Silver Linings – well maybe champagne colored

I’ve had such a not good week. A week ago last Friday, was when it all started. Went to work, as usual, and at our lunch break, I saw my boss walking over. And he wasn’t smiling. Seems his boss, the State of Colorado has reduced our hours. I lose 5 hours a week. I’m barely making it as it is… Not a good ending to my work week.

Then I got home. I open the door and thought ‘What is that smell?’ So I went searching. This is what I found…DSCN2952

When I went out into the room where the ceiling fell, I very quickly realized that the sheet rock that was still up, and the stuff on the floor was covered with mold. Oh yea. So I called my land lady to let her know. In the meantime, because I have asthma and don’t need to breathe anything ugly, I closed and sealed up the room. Duct tape and garbage bags do a pretty good job.

Then Saturday, I got a letter from Social Security Disability saying I had to go to Pueblo (a 2 hour 15 minute drive) for a Doctor’s appointment. Oh, and if you can’t make it, you will be denied Disability. Oh yea, again. But, Mom and Cindy were looking for a good reason to go to Pueblo, so, it was okay.

On Sunday, some roofers showed up and put a big temporary patch on my roof. They will be back to replace the house roof, at least. Okay, yea. They still have to figure out how to do mold abatement, though…

Went to work on Monday and found that they thought I was cutting my hours early and not coming in, so they used one of the Community Service people do my job. So, for 3 hours, I just sat and watched TV. I don’t mind watching TV, but not really at work. *sigh*

When I got home from work on Wednesday, there was a message from my mother. Seems she had been trying to get a hold of me all day. (On Wed. and Fridays I don’t carry my phone with me because the lady I work with on those days thinks cell phones are rude and unnecessary, and as she has the beginnings of dementia, I just don’t carry my phone. It’s easier.) Seems my brother had called Tuesday evening and wanted to meet for lunch in Limon on Friday. Mom told him no, to meet us in Pueblo at the The Black-Eyed Pea for lunch. I said that was great, but what was all the urgency for? Seems he had Mom’s (Cindy’s) new car ready and that meant I got Mom’s old car. Which means I get to park my truck, until I can decide what to do with her.

Saturday was a very long day, but I made it through the physical exam and the X-Rays. We were only a few minutes late for lunch, and I now have a newer car.

New car

So, all in all, things ended pretty well. I also got my ballot in the mail on Saturday – Yea! – and it’s ready to be mailed back. Oh, and I found out that, even though I’ve lost hours, I will continue to be employed. I gather there are some who won’t.

So, here’s hoping for a better week. Oh, and Happy Halloween to all!

Leave a Reply

