So, on to try number 2

I got my letter from Social Security Disability. And I was denied. So I get to start again. Evidently, being denied the first time is “normal”. Doesn’t help. Today was a bad day. I thank God for getting me through the day. I hurt in so many places that walking out to my car this morning was an ordeal. I get really tired of hearing that Osteoarthritis isn’t as bad as rheumatoid arthritis. From my point of view, both hurt when the weather turns icky. And we’ve got a storm with the possibility of rain/snow coming in. Barometer is falling rather quickly. Knees hurt, hips hurt, back hurts, shoulders hurt.

I also have RLS – Restless Leg Syndrome. And it’s going to town right now. Leg muscles twitch and jerk and tingle. While it’s not painful, it is annoying as hell. Makes it nearly impossible to find a comfortable position and with the knees hurting, walking it off is not something I really want to do.

I have asthma, which has gotten worse since I moved. So I moved from a big city, Denver, to a small, rural community, Lamar. Lamar, don’t misunderstand, I love Lamar, it is my home town, is situated on the High Plains of Colorado. Southeastern Colorado. Smack dab in the middle of Colorado’s worse drought area. We’ve got a lot of rain, for the area, this year – close to 7 inches. So you can do the math. When the wind blows, so does the dust. And the wind blows – a lot. There’s a joke down here – depending on which way the wind is blowing, that goes – Kansas sucks and Oklahoma blows, or Oklahoma sucks and Kansas blows. Nothing against either one of those states really, just the way the wind blows.

So to get back on topic – Evidently, I am not disabled enough. Yes, SS says, I am partially disabled. Yes, there is damage to my knees and my lungs aren’t working as they should. Yes, I can no longer do work that requires any long distance walking, any standing for extended periods of time and can no longer lift heavy loads, I can still work. All I have ever done in my life is retail, which includes all of the above. Don’t know if I can do anything else, so I’ll keep trying to get my Disability. Took me 6 months to get the first denial. Here’s hoping it doesn’t take that long for the next try…

Leave a Reply

