Hail and Farewell

New Year 2014 b

As this is my last entry for 2013, I wanted to be witty and sparkling.  I probably won’t be any of that.  I do want to remember and release some of the stuff I dealt with, good and bad, from 2013.

The year started off with me still living in the Denver/Boulder area with the dawning realization that I still was unemployed, my unemployment payments were running out and the knot at the end of my rope was getting far too close for comfort.  I am blessed with some amazing friends and family and we got me packed and moved to this haven of rural Colorado that is Lamar by the middle of February.  Don’t get me wrong, I love Lamar, but it was with a broken heart and trashed dreams that I came back.  I had no other option, and I knew that, but it didn’t make me feel better.  But things worked out and I have a great little house and a job and I feel truly blessed with it all.

I have a dear friend.  We have been friends for so very many years and I love him dearly, but he was so afraid of committing to any sort of relationship other than friends, that I had all but given up on him.  Good thing I held on.  Seems moving away held another silver lining – we are a couple now.  Granted a long distance couple, but we talk almost every day, one way or another, and I feel very secure and very happy with having a boyfriend who makes me laugh and really does care about me and thinks I’m sexy.

I’ve dealt with a lot of my own nasty little demons and, so far, I have won the battles.  Yes, I still have my bad days, I still get depressed and so very unhappy, but it’s not so black like it used to be.  It’s hard to explain, but I can remember when I would get so very depressed and scared and miserable, that I couldn’t see anyway out.  Like being in a deep, dark pit and not being able to find the path out.  But I can see, if not the way out, I can see where I’m going and that makes it not so dark.

I’ve had a few health scares, but nothing so terrible that I can’t learn to deal with it and live with it.

So, thank you, 2013, for all the lessons you have taught me.  Thank you, Father God, for all the blessings and gifts and grace and mercies and, yes, miracles, you have given me, not just this year, but for my whole life.  And thank you to ALL my friends and family, I know it sounds corny, but you really are the wind beneath my wings.  Thanks for lifting me up and letting me soar.

New year 2014

May you all have a Blessed and Happy and Profitable New Year.  And know that I love you all very much!

Leave a Reply

