Oh for the joy that is sleep

stretched out nap

A couple of weeks or so ago, I slipped on an icy patch while dragging my trash can to the curb for pick up.  I didn’t fall, I caught myself.  Unfortunately, my body went one direction and my left knee went the opposite direction.  Yes. it hurt, but as the day wore on, it didn’t seem so bad.  Of course, I was also a bit distracted.  This was the day The Big Snow started.  And, as I have stated many times, to anybody who will listen, I don’t like winter.  Or in this particular case, snow.  When all was said and done, it was 6 to 8 inches of snow that fell over night and through out the following day.  They closed the city.  The snow stopped the evening of the second day and the city plows got to work.  Now, I must explain here that where  my driveway is, three streets come together.   Most of the time this makes it easy for me to pull into or out of my driveway.  Not at the moment.  Our wonderful city plow and snow removal people deposited all the snow they scraped off of three streets  at the opening/ending of my driveway.  And so my car has been struck there for, 6 or 7 days.  fortunately, we have a “bus” that goes to where I work, so I rode the bus.  And this brings me back to the gist of my story…

On the third day after I slipped, I was waiting for the bus to arrive.  It was the bigger bus and I had a few steps to climb to get in.  I could hardly get in.  My knee screamed at me every time I tried to use it.  Same thing happened when I got off the bus.  Not good, I thought to myself as I limped slowly into work.  This is not going to be a fun day.  4 hours later, I knew that getting through the rest of the week was going to be a bear.  By Friday, every time I tried to use the knee, it felt like some one had shoved a knife in the knee and was twisting it.  On Monday, I had an appointment with my Doctor.  On the good side, nothing was broken.  The X-Ray tech said she could see a lot of arthritis in my knee (yea, I knew that.  Duh.) but it looked like it was just a pretty good sprain.  Okay, I don’t know about you, but to me, a sprain is never good.  So I got a knee brace and was told to ice the knee twice a day, take some anti-inflammatories, and stay off it as much as possible.  As if I had never thought of that.  I told him I’d been putting heat on it and he told me that in this case, the heat was just making it worse.  Good for me.

So, I got aspirin and a prescription for anti-inflammatories and an ice bag.  Went home and iced the knee, after freezing the ice bag and taking a couple of pills.   The next morning, I got dressed, very slowly and painfully, put on the brace, took a couple more pills and rode the bus to work.  I couldn’t wait to get home, get the brace off and ice the knee.  I knew the next day was going to be just the same.  But, surprise!, it wasn’t.  Oh, the knee still hurt, and walking was both a challenge and a joke, but I made it through most of the day before it really started to bother me.  And so it went.

This morning, when I tried to put on the brace, I noticed it didn’t fit quite right.  The swelling had gone down enough that the brace didn’t fit anymore, no matter how tight I made it.  Now that made me very happy.  So tomorrow, no more brace.  The knee still hurts, but the little guy in there with a knife has vacated the premises and I can walk almost normally (for me) again.  And the sun finally came out today and it got up to 55 degrees and the city snow plows were “cleaning” up the streets.  Did they remove the big pile of snow in front of my driveway?  Nope.  Not even a little.  But I’ve decided that it’s okay.  It’s melting and in a day or two, no one but me will ever remember there was a big pile of snow blocking my driveway.  And even that’s okay.

And now for the reason this is called “Oh for the joy that is sleep”?  It’s almost midnight and I haven’t slept properly in 3 days.  Here’s hoping I will get some sleep tonight…

Leave a Reply

