I have to think about it…

DSCN2911

Well, it’s been a strange and interesting day today.  And I still don’t know how I feel about everything.  My Mom called me this morning.  Seems she had talked to one of my Uncles last night and neither one of them had heard anything from another Uncle, who lived in Louisiana, for several months.  Mom wanted me to find out if he was still alive.  Took me all of 5 minutes to find his death notice from Social Security.   And what was even sadder was that he had died over 2 months ago, and nobody knew.   There was no obituary or notice in the papers or anything.  Just a Social Security Death Notice.

That’s not to say he died alone, though.  He didn’t.  His son and daughter-in-law were living with him, we think.  See, here’s the deal…

When Uncle Gene got married, the lady he married, Margrette, didn’t want to have anything to do with her family and over the course of several years, convinced him not to have anything to do with his.  In fact, she took it to such an extreme that they even moved to Venezuela for several years, in order to more thoroughly “cut the cord”.  My cousin was born there.  She under estimated the family.  Not that we would deliberately invade their private space, but my Dad, Uncle Gene’s brother sent him Birthday and Christmas cards every year, and so did the other members of the family.  Occasionally, we’d get an answer of some sort or another, and then the information would get shared with everybody else in the family.

When Margrette died, in 1995, We managed to coax Gene back into the family.  He still didn’t come to Reunions or get togethers or anything, but he would send cards and call Mom and Dad or Uncle Wally or Aunt Laura from time to time.  but he still was afraid we would be annoyed with him.  Heck I only met him once, many, many , many years ago at Grandma and Grandpa’s house.

So, now he’s gone.  So is Aunt Laura, Aunt Georgie and my Dad.  I cried when they died.  But, I don’t feel anything one way or the other about Uncle Gene’s passing.  And that bothers me a little.  Okay, so maybe it’s bothering me a lot.  He was family, after all…

I don’t even know if he was a Christian.  I’m really going to have to think about this…

Leave a Reply

