Yeah!!!!

FH000115

Okay, so my last Doctor’s appointment went pretty well.  My blood sugars are going down as is my blood pressure.  I still have a ways to go, but my Doctor was pleased with my progress.  I am still retaining fluid, but not as badly.  My arthritis is about the same as it has been and my heart flutter is more or less controlled.  By that I mean that I still have “episodes” but taking a potassium supplement stops the flutter when it happens.  It seems potassium deficiency runs in Mom’s family.  My Great Grandmother had the same problem and it took several visits to the hospital to figure it out.  Mom has a milder form, but she has it and we think my Grandfather also had a potassium problem cause he was always eating bananas.  Maybe he just liked bananas…  But I digress…

I’m also borderline dehydrated.  Really?  I’m on diuretics.  The Doctor’s answer?  “Drink more water.”  Really?  I had no idea that would help.  I carry around a 20 ounce glass that I keep full of water and drink from it all day long.  Sometimes it feels like all I’m doing is drinking and going to the bathroom.  Things that make you go what the…  I also have a “mild Upper Respiratory Infection and a slight ear infection” so I’m on antibiotics and a decongestant for the next 10 days.

The up shot of all this is that I don’t have to go back until June, unless something happens, like I get sick or get hurt, or have another “episode” that the potassium doesn’t fix.  That makes me very happy.  It’s been almost a year since I didn’t have to go back every month.   And if everything is still on track, I won’t have to go back until December.  YEA!

Leave a Reply

