Updating

05301646391

Well, the lattice is up and has survived its first wind storm.  Yea.  My sunflowers have been planted, along with all the stuff I have already planted.  I was reading the package of seeds for the Passion Flower and learned that it takes up to a year for germination.  Guess I won’t be planting a passion flower this year.  I also learned that in some areas, the passion flower is considered a weed.  Interesting.  My avocado finally stuck a sprout up yesterday, too.  Finally.  (It’s planted in dirt, not water.)

f8ce5b87fda80c790e21ef47d52aaaea

We’ve had quite a few rains lately.  More than we had this time last year.  Yea, last year we had so much rain that we had flooding.  But that was one thunderstorm that dropped 2 or 3 inches in less than 1 to 1 1/2 hours, I think.  The drought is in no way over, but any little rain is greatly appreciated.  Lots of green everywhere.  It is so lovely.  I’m enjoying it now cause July and August are coming.  And the green will be very sparse by then.

My sister and I pulled out my swamp cooler.  It makes me sick.  As in upper respiratory infection sick.  We had been talking about it for a few days.  I had been thinking about how I could get an air conditioner since the weather got warmer.  My Mom and sister had been talking about it, too.  We all finally talked about it together.  I went to my land lady and made a rather tentative suggestion – we pull out the swamp cooler and put in one or two air conditioners and she pays for half of it.  To my surprise, she said okay.  So Cindy, my sister, and I went to Walmart and got a small air conditioner.  Now, you do have to remember, my house is less than 1000 sq. ft.  We put the first one in the back window in the spare room, blowing into my bedroom.  It worked great.  Cooled the back of the house down 10 or 15 degrees.  So within the next couple of days, we pulled the swamp cooler out of the front window, bought another air conditioner, and put it in. ( I say we, but, my sister did most of the work.)  They do such a good job that my house is extremely comfortable.  Not going to be worrying about the 100+ degrees that will soon be here.

I have a new position at work now.  I’m working in the genealogy lab.  And I couldn’t be happier.  (Well, yes, I could, but that’s another story.)  I do miss my friends in the kitchen and some of the people I served, but I’m still in the same building and several of them have found out where I am, so they come by and say hi and we still talk.  The work is not hard, I keep track of all the personal events that happen every day – births, deaths, engagements, weddings, anniversaries, graduations, etc.  Anything of a personal event.  We also keep track of the towns events, but it’s mostly the people’s lives we keep track of.  I find it very interesting.  there are several projects going on, the first one is marking graves at a small, private cemetery in about a week or so.  After that, we will be going to all the area cemeteries to update our files of who is buried where.  We do this about once a year.  It will take 2 or 3 days to do, but I’m really looking forward to it.

So, now you’re updated on everything that’s been going on.  Nothing drastic, just my life in a small town on the high plains of southeastern Colorado.

Leave a Reply

