My Other Soap Box

Cats_wallpapers_5

Those of you who know me know that of all of God’s creatures, my favorite is the cat.  I love those furry little critters.  I could spend all day playing with my own little furball, Meow-Yen Kitty.

DSCN2709

And I take as good care of her as I can.  (Yes, I do have a problem with litter boxes, that’s why she has 2 or 3 at a time.)  She has been fixed and has had all her shots and she is NEVER going outside, until I can buy, or make, a catio for her.  (An enclosed area outside of a window that allows her to go out and come in when she wants, but keeps her from wandering.)  But there is one thing I will never, ever do, and I wish this particular “treatment” would be banned.  I will never declaw her.

Declawing is, to my mind, a form of torture.  I am very unapologetic about this – people who declaw their cats should be arrested for animal abuse and never allowed a pet – of any kind – ever again.

Most people declaw their cats for the most stupid of reasons.  They don’t want their “stuff” scratched.  Buy a scratching post.  Put double sided tape where you don’t want them to scratch, use moth balls, orange scented furniture polish or even orange peels themselves, but don’t declaw the kitty.

Here’s why – declawing doesn’t just remove the claws, which is the cats defensive tools, it takes off the first knuckle of the cat’s foot.  I used to tell people it was like cutting off your fingers at the first joint, but a better analogy is to think of a ballerina.  How would she function if all her toes were cut off at the first joint.  How would you walk if all your toes were cut off at the first knuckle?

Its cruel and inhumane.  Unfortunately, it’s all too human.  Selfish, immature, thoughtlessly human.

So, I’m having a hard time climbing down from this soap box because I just don’t understand how anyone could mistreat those adorable kitties out there.  Which would, if I let it, take me to another soap box, but one’s enough for now.  PLEASE, for the kitties, don’t declaw.

(For a much less angry view point, please watch The Paw Project at https://www.facebook.com/pawproject .  It’s not gory, it just presents the facts and the results of declawing.)

Leave a Reply

