Not as bad as I was afraid it was going to be…

Okay, so I went to my Doctor to talk about a couple of things.  Mostly my arthritis for my Disability, partly to talk about some stomach “issues” I’d been having.  Now, I have to confess, I do use WebMD, and a few other online symptom trackers/definition web sites.  So, when I put in my symptoms and hit search and everything from irritable bowel to pancreatic cancer came up, saying I was concerned was an understatement.  Even though I was concerned, I tried to remind myself that I didn’t have a lot of the symptoms for any of the possible diagnosis listed.  So I asked today.  I explained the symptoms, I could feel my stomach move, it felt like a small rock, and it hurt when I coughed or sneezed or laughed or “strained”.    And here it is – a hernia.  A Ventral Hernia, to be precise.  I really had to look to find a not gross picture of a ventral hernia.

ventral-hernia

So I’m under orders to not lift/carry anything over 5 pounds (I can’t even carry my own groceries.), rest – a lot – and have a consultation with a surgeon, to set up the surgery.  I have that set for the 29th.

Even after all the reading and questions, yes, I ask questions of my Doctor and of my sister, I’m still, concerned.  I know that hernia surgeries are done frequently and that it is really minor surgery, but it is surgery.  Am I being silly for being concerned?  My sister thinks I am.

Oh, and add to the above that I have allergy caused pink eye.  I’m just so happy with today.  But, as my Mom keeps telling me, “it could be something a lot worse and you needed to know…”

Yea, yea, yea…

Leave a Reply

